PRESS RELEASE



ARCHITECTURAL

FOUNDATION

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 13, 2015 **Contact:** Kristen DaMetz Communications Director AIA Kansas City 816.221.3485 Kristen@aiakc.org

Local architectural students awarded \$24,000 in scholarships

Kansas City, Missouri - The Kansas City Architectural Foundation (KCAF) and the American Institute of Architects – Kansas City is pleased to announce that nine outstanding students have been selected as recipients of the 2015 - 2016 scholarship. A total of \$23,000 in scholarships was awarded for the 2015 - 2016 school year, in addition to a \$1,000 National American Institute of Architects Award. The KCAF Scholarships are awarded each year to deserving students from the greater Kansas City metropolitan area, who will be or currently attend an accredited architectural school. Selection criteria include demonstrated financial need, academic performance, letters of recommendation, and answers to short essay. The recipients will be honored at a special reception on the 11th of August.

We are pleased to award scholarships to the following students:

- The Kivett Scholarship is awarded to: Lindsay Pericich – University of Kansas
- The Kratz Scholarship is awarded to: Ava Amirahmadi – Yale
- The Linda Erwin Young Scholarship is awarded to: Allison Pericich – University of Kansas
- The **Peggy and Frank Zilm** is awarded to: Jared Heinzerling – University of Kansas
- The Kent Spreckelmeyer Scholarship is awarded to: Chloe Lockman – University of Kansas
- The Ralph Myers Scholarship is awarded to: Joel Savage – Kansas State University
- The Women in Design Kansas City Scholarship is awarded to: Emily Whitty – Kansas State University
- The AIA Kansas City Scholarship in conjunction with AIA National is awarded to: Courtney Mintor – Kansas State University

The **Clarence Kivett Scholarship** was established in 2012. Clarence was a founding principal of Kivett & Myers architecture firm.

The **Kratz Scholarship** was established to honor the legacy of Edwin and Edith Kratz, lifelong residents of Missouri. Edwin was a licensed architect who worked as the Chief Architect and Chief Underwriter for the Federal Housing Administration in Kansas City. Both Edwin and Edith had a passion about the importance of education and a personal commitment to continue to learn and expand their own knowledge as well as encouraging other to do so.

The **Linda Erwin Young Scholarship** was established to honor the legacy of Linda Young, Executive Director of the American Institute of Architects Kansas City Chapter from 1978 to 1989. Through Young's exceptional dedication and leadership she actively supported the community awareness of architecture and the built environment.

Peggy and Frank Zilm established two scholarships to honor young and deserving architectural students the first named The Peggy and Frank Zilm Scholarship' and the second to honor Kent Spreckelmeyer a professor at the University of Kansas for his strong commitment to mentoring students named as The Kent Spreckelmeyer Scholarship'. The Professor Kent Spreckelmeyer Scholarship was established to award to a deserving student attending the University of Kansas.

The **Ralph Meyer Scholarship** was established in 2011. Ralph was a founding principal of Kivett & Myers architecture firm.

The **Women in Design – Kansas City Scholarship** was established in 2011 by the Women in Design – Kansas City organization. This scholarship was established to help support women seeking degrees in design professions from Kansas and Missouri.

The Kansas City Architectural Foundation is a charitable corporation (501(c) (3)) established in 1984 through the leadership of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) Kansas City Chapter.

The Kansas City Architectural Foundation educates individuals and communities about the power of architecture to transform lives and improve the places where we live, learn, work, and play. Through our outreach programs, grants, scholarships and educational resources, KCAF inspires people to become thoughtful and engaged stewards of the built environment. To learn more about the Foundation please our website at www.aiakc.org/kcaf/ and click on DonorsEdge.

For more information please contact The Kansas City Architectural Foundation c/o Dawn Taylor, Executive Director of the American Institute of Architects 816-221-3485 for information concerning these scholarships and applications.

###